The FRESH School Health Webinar Series - 19th April

19 April 2017

The FRESH School Health and Nutrition webinar series provides monthly presentations by leading policy makers, researchers and implementers engaged in improving the health and education of children in low and middle income countries across the globe. To find out more about the webinar series and watch past webinars visit the webinar home page @ schoolsandhealth.org

  

Title:  Malaria in Schools - A World Malaria Day Special

Presenters:  Stefan Witek-McManus, London Applied & Spatial Epidemiology Research (LASER) Group; 

Amina Fakir-Knipiler and Christelle Maitre-Anquetil, SANOFI.

Time: 19 April 2017 - 09.00 EDT/ 14.00 BST/ 16.00 EAT/ 21:00 SGT

   

Stefan Witek-McManus from LASER, based at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, will be highlighting the key findings from a study into the impact of Learner Treatment Kits (LTK) in schools in Malawi. This innovative research looked at the effectiveness of training teachers to use LTKs - simple first-aid kits containing malaria rapid diagnostic tests and artemisinin-based combination therapy, to manage uncomplicated malaria and other basic health problems experienced by primary school children. 

 

Amina Fakir-Knipiler and Christelle Maitre-Anquetil from SANOFI, a global healthcare  company, will be introducing the “School Children against Malaria” program. This program is a Behavior Change Communication initiative using primary schoolchildren as change agents to lead to individual behavior change and engage the community in the fight against malaria. They will also be presenting the award-winning “MOSKI KIT”; a comprehensive range of tools specifically designed to conduct didactic, interactive and fun malaria learning sessions with kids within the classroom. The “School Children against Malaria” program has been implemented in partnership with National Malaria Control Programs, Ministries of Education and NGOs in 17 sub-Saharan African countries, including Mozambique with Save the Children.

   

 Further reading

How to join

 

To access the FRESH webinar please click on the below link:

 

Join Skype Meeting

  or 

Join by Phone

Toll-free number: 8663864210

Toll number: 4438636601

Find a local number

Conference ID: 8130971711